About you

An image of Fiona smiling and holding a book in a library.


Fiona works in health care and is a freelance writer, editor and accessibility consultant based in the Blue Mountains. She was born profoundly deaf in her left ear, and since her thirties has been losing hearing in her right ear. Her memoir was published in 2021 and explores her experiences with deafness and disability.

Find out more about Fiona

An image of Grace lying down with her remote work set up


Grace has Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS). This means that she needs to spend 20+ hours lying down each day because her body doesn't maintain blood pressure properly. Previously Grace was a landscape architect and designer however, she struggled to find work with POTS. Grace now runs a bookkeeping business and works in a reclined work-station. She is passionate about small business and supporting local business owners. Grace enjoys spending time in nature (gardens, the beach) and with her dog, Wizard.

Find out more about Grace

An image of Lowami sitting in her home smiling


Lowami lives and works in the inner western suburbs of Sydney. She has a number of mental health conditions, including schizoaffective disorder, borderline personality disorder, PTSD, anxiety and depression. In the past, Lowami had a gambling addiction and was homeless, but she has been clean from gambling for seven years. Lowami describes herself as a social butterfly, and enjoys playing Yahtzee and Scrabble, reading, and visiting cafes with her carer.

Find out more about Lowami

An image of Sarah smiling at work


Sarah has been blind from birth. She is a guide dog user and coordinates a program of presenters who have lived experience of blindness and low vision. Sarah is proud to be a blind woman, but she didn't always feel that way. She didn't use mobility aids until she was in her teens, and she found the experience awkward until she got her first guide dog, which was a big turning point in her life. Sarah is a mum to two young children, and enjoys horse back riding, walking her dog Zali, and reading.

Find out more about Sarah

An image of Loki in the university law library.


Working and studying in universities has helped Loki find a sense of career stability and the freedom for their neurodivergence to help in their job. They are in a University of Adelaide Master of Public Policy program, and are hoping to work towards a future where difference is supported and encouraged.

Find out more about Loki

An image of Maria in her apartment courtyard.


Maria recently moved into a disability accessible home. At the age of 33, she acquired an autoimmune disease called scleroderma. Her experience of living without a disability and then living with a disability has changed her perspective on life in many ways. Her journey has been one of self-acceptance and learning to live with a disability to be the best parent she can be to her two children.

Find out more about Maria

An image of Oliver smiling outside his home.


Oliver is an artist and poet living with epilepsy, vision impairment, and cerebral palsy. He creates art using specially designed equipment, and in collaboration with his poetry and art teachers. His work offers a written and visual expression of how he sees the world. To help with his communication, Oliver uses augmentative and alternative communication which is a speech generating device with digital voice, using audio scanning.

Find out more about Oliver

An image of James walking outside with his wife.


James is legally blind and a clinical exercise physiologist. James recently started his own business. He is passionate about using movement and exercise to empower his clients, many of whom live with a disability.

Find out more about James

An image of Grace in a performance arts centre.


Following an accident as a young child, Grace lost her right eye and now lives with a vision impairment. Grace is a freelance writer, director and disability advocate, and works as a Project Officer for a performing arts centre in Brisbane.

Find out more about Grace

An image of Breanna sitting in her motorised wheelchair and smiling.


Breanna is a quadriplegic and uses an electric wheelchair for mobility. She is studying law and in her spare time loves to go horse-riding. Breanna dreams of one day competing in the Paralympics.

Find out more about Breanna

An image of Ashleigh, her husband and their dog, standing in front of their boat.


Twelve years ago, Ashleigh was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis and is now legally blind. She works as a personal injury lawyer and advocates for people experiencing major changes like injury and disability. Ashleigh and her husband often spend their weekends boating.

Find out more about Ashleigh

An image of Samson sitting in his motorised wheelchair in a music studio.


Samson has completed certificates and diplomas in Community Services and Disability studies. He is currently studying Music, which his work and hobbies revolve around. Samson is from Ethiopia and speaks Tigrinya with his family. He also has cerebral palsy.

Find out more about Samson

An image of Liz smiling in a cafe


Liz lives with cerebral palsy. She is a trained social worker and works in disability advocacy. Liz is passionate about enabling people with high support needs to fully participate in their lives and society.

Find out more about Liz

Ellie volunteers at a community hub which brings people


Ellie has dissociative identity disorder, a functional neurological disorder, an acquired head injury and difficulties with learning and memory. Ellie enjoys many creative pursuits which help her to manage her mental health. She volunteers at a community hub and connects with other people through social, eductional and recreational activities.

Find out more about Ellie

An image of Jerusha smiling in her bedroom


Jerusha has cerebral palsy. She is a PhD student at Victoria University, investigating the effects of exercise and brain stimulation in adults with cerebral palsy.

Jerusha loves swimming, music, poetry and neuroscience.

Find out more about Jerusha

Photo of Callum


Callum had difficulty socialising until he joined a sports group for people with disability.

Being part of this group has helped build his confidence, self esteem and social skills.

Find out more about Callum

Photo of Graham


Graham could not walk until he was 12 years old. Now he goes to the gym to stay fit and build his strength.

He is involved in the arts community and enjoys music, art and acting. He also enjoys socialising and getting out in nature.

Find out more about Graham

Photo of Cherie


Cherie likes to perform and was very introverted until she joined a theatre group.

She now travels to participate in theatre and uses the Disability Gateway to find the services she needs when travelling

Find out more about Cherie

Photo of Kimberley


Kimberley enjoys dancing, film production and craft classes. She also volunteers at an Equestrian Centre.

Her dad, Mike, drives her to her activities but she is becoming more independent with the help of the Disability Gateway.

Find out more about Kimberley

Photo of Connie


Connie loves performing and is a lead singer in a band, which has helped with her confidence.

She has struggled with mental health and uses the Disability Gateway to find the support she needs.

Find out more about Connie

Photo of Dominic


Dominic is from Vietnam. He was adopted by an Australian family and grew up in rural South Australia.

Living in a rural area as a child, his family found it hard to find information on disability supports.

Find out more about Dominic

Photo of Richard


Richard uses dancing and movement to help with his Parkinsons, and is part of a dancing group.

He has found information through the Disability Gateway to help him communicate and socialise.

Find out more about Richard

photo of Grace


Grace is a member of her local arts community and likes to sing and perform.

She is also studying sound healing which is the use of sound to improve physical, mental and spiritual wellbeing.

Find out more about Grace

photo of Mark


Mark was badly injured in a motor bike accident and now needs specialised transport to help him get around.

He has been able to access transport and other disability supports through the Disability Gateway.

Find out more about Mark

photo of Sue


Sue is part of a deaf club who get together for fun activities, like going for a picnic or to a restaurant.

Living in a remote area, it was difficult to access supports but she has been able to do this through the Disability Gateway.

Find out more about Sue



Benjamin is a Year 12 student who would like to work in the hospitality industry when he leaves school.

He loves cooking and visual and performing arts.

Find out more about Benjamin

Dominique and Nick

Dominique and Nick

Nick suffered significant physical injuries after an accident and now needs specialised transport to get to appointments.

With the help of his carer Dominique, he has been able to access supports through the Disability Gateway.

Find out more about Dominique and Nick



Francesca works at a local childcare centre as a volunteer four days a week.

In her free time, Francesca does acting classes, trains at the gym and does gymnastics.

Find out more about Francesca



Gary lost part of his arm after a car accident when he was 24.  He has since completed an apprenticeship and works as a welder.

He mainly lives independently, but knows that he may need further support as he gets older.

Find out more about Gary



Janelle had a foot amputation when she was six years old. She is now a mother and works in childhood education.

Janelle has embraced her disability and lives an active lifestyle and has played competitive tennis.

Find out more about Janelle



John has lived with spina bifida paraplegia since birth. He likes to exercise and with the help of aids and equipment leads an active lifestyle.

John is an avid traveller and is planning to travel to the Northern Territory.  As he gets older he needs more support with everyday living and researches these supports online.

Find out more about John



Judeland works at the Australian Taxation Office. He loves sport and currently plays in a wheelchair football league. He also participates in weightlifting and cross training.

Find out more about Judeland

Laura and Eddie

Laura and Eddie

Laura is a full time carer for her adult son Eddie.  Laura is teaching Eddie independence skills.

Laura is Chinese. She is finding translated information to help Eddie through the Disability Gateway.

Find out more about Laura and Eddie



Lauren balances her time between a day activity centre and studying at TAFE.

Lauren likes cooking and hospitality and would like to work in a café.

Find out more about Lauren



Loc moved from Vietnam to Australia as a child. He previously had a career in chemistry, until he lost his vision.

With the help of support services Loc has regained his independence and is determined to return to work.

Find out more about Loc



Maya is studying a Bachelor of Social Work and is looking forward to finding work in this field.

Maya lives at home with her parents but is independent and is planning to move into her own place in the near future.

Find out more about Maya



Philomena is an active retiree who participates in disability committees as a way of sharing her experience with others.

Philomena  is also a member of her local choir.

Find out more about Philomena



Stuart, despite facing challenges, has achieved a Bachelor of Human Services and Masters in Social Work. Along the way, he has relied on support workers to assist him with everyday tasks.

He now assists others with disability helping them access the supports and services they need.

Find out more about Stuart